Skip to content
Docs

Managing Deployments

You can manage all current and previous deployments regardless of environment, status, or branch from the dashboard. To manage a deployment from the dashboard:

  1. Ensure your team is selected from the team switcher
  2. Select your project
  3. Open Deployments in the sidebar
  4. You can then filter, redeploy, or manually promote your deployment to production

Vercel CLI and Vercel REST API also provide alternative ways to manage your deployments. You can find a full list of the commands available in the Vercel CLI Reference, along with the deployments section of the Vercel REST API Reference.

You can filter your deployments based on branch, status, and deployment environment:

  1. Select your project from the dashboard
  2. Open Deployments in the sidebar
  3. Use the dropdowns to search by Branch, Date Range, All Environments, or Status
The Deployments tab with the status filter dropdown open.
The Deployments tab with the status filter dropdown open.

If you no longer need a specific deployment of your app, you can delete it from your project with the following steps:

  1. From your dashboard, select the project where the specific deployment is located.
  2. Click on the Deployments section in the sidebar.
  3. From the list of deployments, click on the deployment that you want to delete
  4. Click the ... button.
  5. From the context menu, select Delete.

To create an Authorization Bearer token, see the access token section of the API documentation.

cURL
curl --request DELETE \
  --url https://api.vercel.com/v13/deployments/<deployment-id> \
  --header "Authorization: Bearer $VERCEL_TOKEN"

To create an Authorization Bearer token, see the access token section of the API documentation.

deleteDeployment
import { Vercel } from '@vercel/sdk';
 
const vercel = new Vercel({
  bearerToken: '<YOUR_BEARER_TOKEN_HERE>',
});
 
async function run() {
  const result = await vercel.deployments.deleteDeployment({
    id: 'deployment-id',
  });
 
  // Handle the result
  console.log(result);
}
 
run();

Deleting a deployment prevents you from using instant rollback on it and might break the links used in integrations, such as the ones in the pull requests of your Git provider.

You can also set a deployment retention policy to automatically delete deployments after a certain period.

You can set the retention policy for your deployments to automatically delete them after a certain period. To learn more, see Deployment Retention.

Vercel provides a way to protect your deployments from being accessed by unauthorized users. You can use Vercel Authentication to restrict access to your deployments to only Vercel users with suitable access rights. You can also configure which environments are protected.

Vercel Authentication can protect preview and production deployments on all plans at no additional cost. Password Protection costs $20 per month per protected project on Pro and is included on Enterprise. Trusted IPs is available on Enterprise. See Usage & Pricing for Deployment Protection for the full plan comparison.

To learn more, see Deployment Protection.

Vercel automatically redeploys your application when you make any commits. However, there can be situations such as bad cached data where you need to Redeploy your application to fix issues manually. To do so:

  1. Ensure your team is selected from the team switcher
  2. Select your project
  3. Open Deployments in the sidebar
  4. Locate the deployment you wish to deploy. You may need to use the filter options
  5. Click the ellipsis icon () and select Redeploy
  6. In the Redeploy to Production window, decide if you want to use the existing Build Cache, and then select Redeploy
Option to confirm redeploy to production.
Option to confirm redeploy to production.

Other than your custom needs to redeploy, it's always recommended to redeploy your application to Vercel for the following use cases:

Last updated August 21, 2026

Was this helpful?

supported.